R&R Front-Sight Inc
GUNS & AMMO (Now Open)
57 Main St.
Bryson City, NC
Pre-Regestration required for
Spring and Summer Classes
Mon. November 9th, 2015
9:00 a.m.- 5:30 p.m.
57 Main St, Bryson City, NC
Course fee: $65.00
Sat. November 14th, 2015
8:00 a.m.- 4:30 p.m.
National Guard Armory
Course fee: $65.00
Sat., November 21, 2015
8:00a.m. - 4:30p.m.
R&R Front-Sight Inc.
57 Main Street
Bryson City, NC
Course fee: $65.00
NOTE: All class times based on a "working lunch" schedule
HANDGUN RENTAL Available At All Classes
**PRIVATE CLASSES AVAILABLE **
Retired Law Enforcement Officer H.R. 218 Qualification CALL for dates
2:00 p.m.- 11:00 p.m.
Cherokee County Sheriff's Training Facility
Course fee: $100.00
Call (828) 361-2604 or
e-mail us to sign up.
Concealed Handgun Carry
Class General Outline:
Carrying concealed safety
Cleaning and maintenance
In North Carolina, Justified Self Defense is derived from North Carolina Common Law and a few statutory laws. North Carolina has the so-called
"Castle Doctrine". Read the questions below to test your knowledge of the laws as they apply to self defense.
- You are awakened in the middle of the night by the sound of breaking glass in your bedroom window. You grab your pistol and observe a
man wearing a ski mask and holding a pry bar. He is standing just outside your window. Can you legally use deadly force against the
person before he enters through the window or must you wait until he gets in?
- You are awakened in the middle of the night by a noise in your bedroom. You grab your pistol and turn on the light. You see a man at
the foot of your bed. He is wearing a ski mask and holding your jewelry box in his hands. He sees you and turns to run out the bedroom
door. Can you legally use deadly force against the person who has broken into your home and running away with your jewelry?
- You have just watched the evening news about a serial murderer and rapist. You go out to get the newspaper from your driveway, and see
the murderer and rapist attempting to steal your car. Can you legally use deadly force against the killer who is attempting to take
NC GENERAL STATUTE 14 51.1. Use of deadly physical force against an intruder. (This is commonly called the "Castle Doctrine.")
(a) A lawful occupant within a home or other place of residence is justified in using any degree of force that the occupant reasonably believes
is necessary, including deadly force, against an intruder to prevent a forcible entry into the home or residence or to terminate the intruder's
unlawful entry (i) if the occupant reasonably apprehends that the intruder may kill or inflict serious bodily harm to the occupant or others in
the home or residence, or (ii) if the occupant reasonably believes that the intruder intends to commit a felony in the home or residence.
(b) A lawful occupant within a home or other place of residence does not have a duty to retreat from an intruder in the circumstances described
in this section.
North Carolina law does not allow the use of deadly force solely to protect property, or to prevent theft, or to regain stolen property. An owner
can defend his or her property using reasonable and necessary force, but not deadly force. A property owner cannot shoot a thief before, during,
or after a theft. The same rule prohibits deadly force to prevent injury or vandalism to property.
See answer to question 2. In addition, no matter how serious the crime, a citizen cannot shoot to stop a fleeing criminal.
IF YOU DID NOT KNOW THE CORRECT ANSWER TO THOSE THREE QUESTIONS, YOU MIGHT WANT TO CONSIDER FIREARMS TRAINING SO YOU WILL BE BETTER PREPARED TO
DEFEND YOURSELF, FAMILY AND HOME WITH A FIREARM.
Too many people make the mistake of not getting the proper training in firearms handling and safety. The result can be disastrous. DO NOT ALLOW
THAT TO HAPPEN TO YOU! With the proper training, the next time you hear that "bump in the dark," or when disaster strikes, you will feel much
more confident about your ability to protect yourself, your family and home.
Whether you are interested in recreational shooting, competition, hunting, gun collecting, historical reenactment, home safety, or personal
protection - the basics are where to start! Basic Firearm Training Courses teach you the safety principles and help you develop the knowledge,
skills, and attitude that are needed to successfully pursue your shooting interests.
We will also travel to your location and present the very same course outline to your private group of five or more. All our equipment is
portable so we can take it to your hunting lodge or other remote facility. You will need a safe place to shoot. Call me and we will discuss your needs.
The Attorney General's Law Enforcement Liaison section is charged with analyzing the laws of other states to determine whether concealed handgun
permits are honored here, and North Carolina's permits honored there.
Permit holders should know that while they can legally carry a concealed handgun while visiting these states, they're subject to that state's
laws state and are responsible for learning about those laws. Out-of-state permit holders should familiarize themselves with North Carolina's laws.
For example, in North Carolina, concealed handguns may not be carried:
- In law enforcement or correctional facilities such as a prison;
- In financial institutions such as a bank;
- In any space occupied by state or federal employees, including state and federal courthouses;
- In schools or on school grounds;
- In areas of assemblies, parades, funerals or demonstrations;
- In any place where alcoholic beverages are sold and consumed (such as some restaurants);
- In any area where concealed handguns are prohibited by federal law;
- In any place of business that has posted a sign banning concealed weapons on its premises;
- By any person while consuming alcohol or while under the influence of alcohol or any controlled substances (unless obtained legally and
taken as directed by a physician).
To possess a concealed handgun in North Carolina, you must:
- Carry your permit and a valid form of identification with you at all times.
- Disclose the fact that you have a valid concealed handgun permit when you are approached or addressed by any law enforcement officer in
- Inform the officer that you are in possession of a concealed handgun.
- Present both the permit and valid identification at the request of an officer.
- NOTE: You should not attempt to display either your weapon or your permit unless directed to by an officer.
States with North Carolina Agreements
* resident permits only
If you are from a state that is not on this list, please see the publication
North Carolina Firearms Laws for information on how to transport a firearm
through North Carolina.
This publication also includes a list of "Do's and Don'ts" for carrying a concealed handgun in North Carolina. This information is designed as
a reference guide only and should not be relied upon as legal advice.
Law enforcement can contact the law enforcement liaison attorneys at the Department of Justice at (919) 716-6500 or by fax at (919) 716-6760.
For more information, please visit